Healthy Carrot Cake Recipe

Carrot cake is one of my favorite types of cake! However I have never been very fond of the cream cheese on top of it. And since the traditional Carrot Cake also contains a lot of sugar, and to my disappointment doesn’t taste much like actual carrots at all, I got inspired to create my very own version of a healthier Carrot Cake!

Keep reading for the recipe!

healthycarrotcakefitfoodcal

For my carrot cake I used a rectangular loaf tin. Yields: 1 cake, 8 big slices.

Ingredients:

  • about 350g of carrotscarrotcake1
  • 100g of old fashioned oats
  • 2 bananas
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 tbsp [15g] baking powder
  • water
  • cinnamon
  • optional: whipped cream and powdered sugar for topping/decoration

 

Preheat oven to 180°C [350°F].

First I grate [washed and peeled] carrotcakecarrots in a food processor, while adding tiny amounts of water. In a separate bowl I put the oatmeal, baking powder, water, 1 banana & 2 egg whites, and mix it. Then I add in the carrots and stir well. I shortly spray the baking tin with a nonstick cooking spray and put the batter in the baking tin.

I cut up 1 banana and place the chopped banana slices on top of the cake mix.

Then I bake it in the oven for about 30 minutes.

After cooling down I remove the cake out of the baking loaf tin. The cake might fall apart a little bit if you’re impatient like me and don’t wanna wait until it’s cooled down..

carrotcake3a

For decoration I add some more carrots to sprinkle the cake. The result!:

carrotcake4

To give it a sweeter taste I add some cinnamon and white powdered sugar.

carrotcake6

And if you desire, serve with some whipped cream as well!

carrotcake5 carrotcake7

My friends and I really enjoyed this carrot cake!

_______________________________________________________________________

Nutritional Facts. Serving size: 1/8 cake.carrotcake9

Calories: 90kcal, Fat: 1.2g, Sat. Fat: 0.2g, Carbs: 16.2g, Sugar: 3.3g, Protein: 3g, Fibre: 3g

With sugar and whipped cream: Calories: 136kcal, Fat: 4g, Sat. Fat: 2.2g, Carbs: 21.3g, Sugar: 8.4g, Protein: 3.2g, Fibre: 3.5g

 

 

This carrot cake is super delicious and easy to make! You should definitely give it a try! And if you prefer a sweeter taste you could even add some raisins/dates and honey before baking it, or add in some chopped walnuts or almonds for a more nutty flavor! ENJOY.

 

 

Leave a Reply

